Hala Mirowska is one of the twin market halls built between 1899 and 1901, at the site of the former barracks of the Horse Guard of the Polish Crown Regiment. Its name derives from the name of General Wilhelm Mier, who was commander-in-chief of the Guard.
The brick facades and steel roof trusses designed by Boleslaw Milkowski and Ludwik Pankiewicz are examples of early modern style inspired by medieval architecture. The market hall was the place of execution of several hundred civilians before it was completely burnt down during the Warsaw Uprising. To this day bullet holes mark the north wall of the building.
After the war both market halls were rebuilt, the eastern one housing the sports hall of the Gwardia club, and the western restored to the former commercial function, with food stalls interspersed by luxury shops like Pewex. In the 1960s, a modernist commercial pavilion made of glass and concrete was added to the hall’s front, almost completely covering the western façade. To this day, the building retains its original character as a vibrant marketplace with a wide selection of food products.